The Book of Lambspring (2023)

The Book of Lambspring is a fascinating alchemical picture-book created at the end of the 16th century, and credited to Frenchman, Nicholas Barnaud. It consists of 15 plates, each with a brief commentary.

The book appears to depict, in chronological order, the stages of the alchemical process as it applies to both spiritual / psychological development or the turning of base metals into gold.

For a fascinating interpretation of these plates, on a psychological level, see Jeffrey Raff’s excellent book, Jung & the Alchemical Imagination (2000).

Here are the plates in order.

Plate 1
Plate 2
Plate 3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top